Completados
bogglesthemind
81 pessoas acharam esta resenha útil
Fev 25, 2024
12 of 12 episódios vistos
Completados 0
No geral 10
História 10
Acting/Cast 10
Musical 10
Voltar a ver 10

Stunning! A masterclass in storytelling. Deeply emotional and affecting.

Expertly filmed and acted, this Priest adaptation offers more than the average BL. It’s about love but also about survival, found family, and commitment.

Here’s the premise: Wei Qian and Zhi Yuan are orphaned boys trying to survive. The older boy, Qian, joins a gang in order to earn money to feed himself and his younger sister Lili. He finds Yuan, who is around 4-5 years younger, literally sleeping in the streets. Taking pity on Yuan, Qian takes him into his home and they live together as chosen found family.

Zhi Yuan looks up to Wei Qian and will do anything to make him happy, including joining the school running club or working part time after school to contribute to the family’s income. Over time, his feelings for Qian transform from gratitude and brotherly affection into romantic love.

There is a natural progression to the way we see Yuan express his feelings for Qian. He loves him through his actions, taking care of him when he's sick or exhausted. Eventually, his feelings bubble to a bursting point and he confesses. (This isn't a spoiler because ep 1 opens with this scene, and we return to it later on.)

In contrast, Qian is singleminded in his focus on his work and family. He doesn't seem capable of romantic feelings toward anyone. It's the last thing on his mind. Yuan and Lili are the most important people in his life, and all he cares about is ensuring they are secure and healthy. This all comes to a head, however, with Yuan's confession.

Content warnings: In the first episodes, we see that these boys are dealing with harsh realities, including parental abuse (shown on screen) and homelessness. Their traumas aren’t downplayed but are sensitively represented. We need to see these scenes so that we understand where these boys are coming from and what they’re overcoming.

Leia Mais

Esta resenha foi útil para você?
Completados
ariel alba
52 pessoas acharam esta resenha útil
Fev 24, 2024
12 of 12 episódios vistos
Completados 2
No geral 10
História 10
Acting/Cast 10
Musical 10
Voltar a ver 10

From 'Da Ge' to 'Unknown': "In this infinite darkness, you are my only light"

Today, people are losing the rich habit of reading. Every day he spends more time in front of the screen, watching moving images. Both cinema and television have become the preferred leisure option in our societies, while books have been relegated to the background for many. Faced with this reality, television networks continue to rely on the decisive influence that literature has had on their future, which is why they will again and again resort to books or works published online to recreate television fictions.
Incestuous love has been brought to film and television in works such as 'Starcrossed' (2005), a very famous American short with a homosexual theme about gay love between brothers. Written and directed by James Burkhammer II, it tells the shocking love story of Darren and Connor, two brothers from a suburban neighborhood who are lovers.
'From Beginning to End' (original title in Portuguese: 'Do Começo ao Fim'), the 2009 Brazilian film, written and directed by Aluizio Abranches, tells how two male brothers from an upper-class Brazilian family maintain a special relationship, from children, which draws the attention of the adults around them, worrying their parents and family.
BL series such as the Chinese 'Stay With Me' (2023) tells the romantic story between two stepbrothers. Su Yu, a high school student, lives a simple life with his father, but faces a big change when his mother remarries a rich man and introduces him to his stepbrother Wu Bi.
In this effort to bring literary pages to the screens and also reflect a story of a love relationship between people without blood ties, but considered "brothers", the Taiwanese Youku opts for the novel '大哥 ('Da Ge'), 'Brother', by the talented Chinese writer known by the pseudonym Priest, whose work, published by the web publisher Jinjiang Literature City, covers a wide range of genres, from romance and martial arts to science fiction and danmei, with a quality and creativity that distinguishes her from other writers, due to her deep humanistic themes and her ability to capture the essence of life's struggles and joys.
The dramas 'Guardian', 'Legend of Fei', 'Word of Honor', 'Faraway Wanderers' and 'Justice in the Dark' are based on Priest's novels.
Under the direction of Ray Jiang ('We Best Love: No. 1 For You and Fighting Mr. 2nd, 2021, and 'My Tooth, Your Love', 2022), 'Unknown', based on one of the most acclaimed works of Priest, will immerse the viewer in a moving story that revolves around Wei Qian (Chris Chiu), a young man with a strong spirit who, since the age of thirteen, has carried family responsibilities on his shoulders by being the breadwinner for his half-sister, Wei Li Li. after the premature loss of his parents. Wei Qian's world takes an unexpected turn when he adopts Xiaoyuan (Kurt Huang), a street child who goes by the alias Wei Zhiyuan, as a brother. Living a life of loss, violence, poverty, helplessness and anguish, our characters face life, winning and losing, on a journey of self-discovery.
'Unknown', faithful to the original novel, is full of sorrows and pains, but also of small joys that illuminate the lives of its protagonists and lead them to build a beautiful and sincere relationship.
In this story, which is about human warmth, family, friendship, self-discovery and self-acceptance, and which defends the idea of ​​learning when to persist and when to let go, it shows a love between two boys more powerful than the water, deeper than blood. As if on a slippery slope to the top, 'Unknown' will draw a path for us and even alert us if we have to travel the path ourselves.
With a distinctive characteristic that its protagonists are young, the series addresses the experiences and challenges of the current generation of any country, since the themes exposed are universal. However, it is crucial to understand the codes that guide the plot. Individual conflicts, dreams, challenges and how they deal with life situations are explored. Although youth is reflected in various ways, the series highlights gay love, sensitivity, ways of loving, facing adversity, family situations, as well as the differences and contradictions present in all the characters.
With a capable and engaging cast, the drama is interesting and intelligent. The all-star cast of this captivating journey into the world of romance and human complexity includes Yankee Yang as Wang Jun Le / "Le Ge", Danny Liang (Xiong Da Fang / "Lao Xiong"), Kim Jae Hoon (Tan Yu / " San Pang") and Tammy Lin as Wei Li Li / "Xiao Bao", who weave, around the protagonists, a warp of surprising, complex and beautiful characters and relationships.
Chris Chiu, who pleasantly surprised both critics and viewers with his leading roles in the dramas 'High 5 Basketball' (2016) and 'Hello, Again' 2019), once again demonstrates character by playing a young man who puts his life at risk and works illegally to support his brothers. He will have the help of San Pang, his childhood friend, to get back on the right path.
His character is rich in nuances: He seems ruthless and cold-blooded, but he is sensitive and knows how to appreciate what surrounds him. He makes the decision to protect his brothers and stubbornly guards a place that increasingly looks like a home. He longs to be loved and sheltered, and to give, in turn, love and shelter. Wei Qian wages an internal struggle, a struggle that leaves him in a state of constant battle against the two opposite poles within him.
Ray Jiang, with his unmatched talent, brings to life a character who challenges stereotypes and shows that dreams know no limits.
For his part, Kurt Huang, in the role of Xiao Yuan, shows on screen the vulnerability of a child abandoned by his parents at birth and the suffering caused by the harassment of older boys in an orphanage, until he is picked up by a stranger who will raise him as a "brother." As a young man, he will admit to being in love with the person who raised and educated him.
In this series based on a Danmei. that could revolutionize the BL universe, both young people struggle with a dilemma considered taboo, such as the romantic relationship between brothers. However, they are not linked by blood. Will they cross that forbidden line and end up becoming lovers?
The series manages to combine the subtlety of Priest's prose and the care that the author puts into her heroes and heroines, and the construction of the characters designed from the script by Cai Fei Qiao ('Stay by My Side'-2023) , making the story very beautiful due to the way in which the characters develop and the events develop before the attentive gaze of the viewer. As the events unfold, he understands the characters and the world in which they take place.
If someone found the development of the story slow in the first part of the series, this is because the characters take the time to define their relationship, taking into account the previous bond between them. But once they do it, the actions gain in intensity. The romantic scenes in 'Unknown' are primarily narrative. Intimacy is a function of advancing the story, making it deeper. The sex scenes serve the characters, the narrative, and the tone of the film. But they are also there because they are sexy. But they do not hide the intention of being used to tell the audience how a character feels about their sexuality or identity.
This imperfectly perfect couple will be sustained by longing, desires, hopes, strangely wonderful coincidences, letters that are written from a distance with all the heart, with all the soul.
I do not doubt that the viewer will be able to remember 'Through the Gates of the Strait (Shared Universe)', another of Priest's novels.
Wei Qian, Wei Zhi Yuan / "Xiao Yuan" and other characters, as tools that they are, after all, are used by the creators to tell a story that will attract the attention of the most demanding viewers.
Will the series respect one of the characteristics of Priest's work, that of focusing largely on the plot and the construction of the world in which the characters operate, leaving romance as a secondary aspect? Doesn't this make the romance more epic, since it grows and evolves alongside the story itself, at the same time helping to avoid monopolizing the public's attention in sexual and romantic matters, as many danmei novels do?
Will 'Unknown' be faithful to 'Da Ge' in terms of not showing explicit sexual content and having a limited amount of romance, such as few vaguely described kissing and sex scenes? The series focuses its attention on romance, and it could not be otherwise because the novel on which it is based is romantic above all.
It may be flawed, so it doesn't fully develop the edges of its story, but the central relationship that holds the series together is so compelling that the rest hardly matters.

Leia Mais

Esta resenha foi útil para você?
Completados
Kate Flower Award1
13 pessoas acharam esta resenha útil
28 dias atrás
12 of 12 episódios vistos
Completados 4
No geral 8.0
História 8.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Musical 7.0
Voltar a ver 7.5

Everything stays in the family… kind of.

I’m not gonna sit here and pretend like both romances in the drama were not questionable, they were. I also have to give props to the director and writer for doing their best to deal with potential issues a story like that could present. Age gap, family relations, grooming, predatory behavior, lack of informed consent - all that could have been an issue, but somehow they managed to avoid shooting themselves in the foot - for most parts.

What we’ve got, rather than just a romance, was a found family trope drama. The bond between Wei Qiao and Wei Zhi Yuan was deep and meaningful, slowly transforming into a partnership. They knew each other's shortcomings, they understood each other’s pain, they found home in each other’s presence.

Whenever the drama did a good job transforming the brotherly bond into a romantic one is a matter of opinion, personally I was quite fine with it. Being an overanalyzer, I appreciate how the show made me reflect on their relationship, examine how much of the connection was form on shared trauma and how much was driven by pure love. I’m glad the writer, with how the plot and characters were written, kept reassuring me that what they had was more than just codependency. Do I think both of them should go to therapy? Of course, but they are not the first, nor the last BL couple to never truly address or deal with the trauma.

We witness a story of two people who were abandoned and who found peace and happiness with each other. They had to face a lot of setbacks, both external and internal, to finally admit to each other feelings and allow themselves to be loved and love the other. The journey was not easy, but with love stories like that, it shouldn’t be. For me to enjoy this type of romance I need to understand it first, I need to feel like the characters also understand their own feelings. That they thought about it, talked about it, that there is no misunderstanding. And Unknown managed to do just that.

What made it possible were obviously the performances. Chris Chiu made the confusion and the strong internal denial Wei Qian was facing so real and raw. The way we could see on his face what he wanted, and how it went against what he actually did. The constant regret and fear of the situation and the feelings he could not quite understand and accept. Then we have Kurt Huang as Wei Zhi Yuan - from a chaotic teen, to resigned young adult, to confident adult. We witnessed his growth, we saw his dedication and unwavering feelings. And it all seemed so real on the screen.

All that said, there was one aspect of the show I just simply could not comprehend. One directing and editing choice that ruined quite an important scene for me. And I just cannot understand who thought this was a good idea and how no one questioned that choice on all the steps of the production.

Overall, it was less about finding a lover, and more about finding home. A partner that can understand and support you. One that you can rely on. One that always has your back. A partnership. Sharing the burden, sharing the happiness. A drama about finding a family and then working hard to keep it, in whatever form it might be.

Leia Mais

Esta resenha foi útil para você?
Completados
minnienatachai
14 pessoas acharam esta resenha útil
Abr 7, 2024
12 of 12 episódios vistos
Completados 0
No geral 10
História 10
Acting/Cast 10
Musical 10
Voltar a ver 10

The best and needs more recognition ‼️

I love this kind of angst and forbidden love the series is top tier the casts are giving!!Such a beautiful series I get so excited for the next ep! The way Yuan is always there for Qian loving it! Can't wait for them to kiss lmao. And the love Qian has for his family and always prioritize them than other things that's what we call a family. And the chemistry is chemistrying looking forward for the next episode. I feel like one day I would probably rewatch this series over and over.ChrisXuan on top
Esta resenha foi útil para você?
Completados
CykoS Dee
14 pessoas acharam esta resenha útil
Abr 20, 2024
12 of 12 episódios vistos
Completados 0
No geral 10
História 10
Acting/Cast 10
Musical 10
Voltar a ver 10

Superb casting, acting, script and directing

It’s available as VIP on YOUKU app. The money I spent for the last three episodes is well worth it. This series was well constructed and casted perfectly. The character and story development is smooth. Each actor brought their character to life with so much emotion and simple gestures.

I’ve never cried so much. Each episode is so emotional, both happy and sad. 10/10 recommended
Esta resenha foi útil para você?
Completados
BL Compilations
15 pessoas acharam esta resenha útil
Fev 24, 2024
12 of 12 episódios vistos
Completados 3
No geral 8.0
História 7.5
Acting/Cast 8.5
Musical 8.5
Voltar a ver 8.0

pretty well done complex series

Overall: they handled a taboo topic fairly well, though the flashback to when Yuan was a child during a certain scene in episode 11 was cringey. This was a Taiwanese adaptation of a Chinese danmei (Da Ge by Priest). I have not read the novel and reviewed the series on its own merits. 12 episodes about 30 minutes each. Aired on Youku's app, Youku's YouTube channel and Viki.

Content Warnings: non con kiss, punch, blood, past parental abuse, violence/beaten up, kidnapping, coercion, unwanted outing, homophobia, manhandling, vomiting, (some people may include another one, I didn't based on how everything played out)

What I Liked
- a few central characters, got to know their personalities
- how characters cared about each other
- a grittier/more realistic tone
- sweet moments
- a few funny moments
- We Best Love actor cameo as the doctor starting in ep 3
- a well done antagonist, I could see his reasoning but he meddled and was hypocritical though he did redeem himself at the end
- a non cliche female character in ep 6
- one of the few times I was happy for a years-long time jump (end of ep 7)
- sassier/more confident Yuan starting end of ep 7
- intimacy/tension
- production value

Room For Improvement
- (neutral) I generally don't like series that start with flash forwards but I understood why they did this
- confused in the beginning as to who was biological siblings, adopted siblings and friends (Iikely compounded by the use of brother as a term of endearment/closeness and not reserved for biological siblings)
- the timeline/character ages took some effort to piece together
- Li Li was supposed to be in high school before the time jump in episode 7 but she acted like a middle schooler (went into a random guy's car as an example, also she outed another character), even at the end when she was 23 she felt like a high schooler
- should not have done the flashback montage in a scene in episode 11
- cringey the coworkers talked about their sexual positions at work
- introduced a very serious plot point only to never resolve it, also didn't feel that the gang issue was clearly resolved either

Timeline Notes (the series wasn't clear where we were in the timeline/ages, feel free to correct me)
2008 (eps 1/2 flashbacks) - they first met in 2008 because that was the first date on the wall with the heights, Yuan age 7, Qian age 14, Li Li age 8
2016 (eps 1/2 present) Qian graduated university at the end of ep 2, Yuan age 15, Qian age 22, Li Li age 16
2018 (ep 3) Yuan is age 17 & Qian is 24, note that Yuan skipped a year or two so he's in university already at age 17, Li Li age 18
2019 (eps 4-7) Yuan turned 18 in episode 4, Yuan age 18, Qian age 25, Li Li age 19
the series eventually mentions that the gap was 4 years as I guessed
2023 (end of ep 7 up to the end of ep 12) Yuan age 22, Qian age 29, Li Li age 23
2024? (end of ep 12) Yuan age 23, Qian age 30, Li Li age 24

Leia Mais

Esta resenha foi útil para você?
Completados
kdramajudge
7 pessoas acharam esta resenha útil
Abr 19, 2024
12 of 12 episódios vistos
Completados 0
No geral 8.5
História 7.0
Acting/Cast 8.5
Musical 8.5
Voltar a ver 7.0

Yuan & Qian is each other's home

Wei Qian (Chris Chiu) was the breadwinner of himself and his sister. One day, he took a pity on a homeless boy, Zhi Yuan (Kurt Huang), and welcomed him to his home. Qian & Yuan gets united in a family-bond, but overtime Yuan starts falling for Qian. It's hard to confess their feelings but it's impossible to hide it. Will there be a chance for them be together as lovers?

Although coming from a poor background, Qian didn't hesitate to embrace the homeless Yuan, that, I found interesting. Both Qian & Yuan were dealing with harsh realities and it’s heartwarming to see them find solace in their found family. I like their give & take relationship, as Yuan was not only be grateful and receiving, but he tries to contribute to the family’s income, moreover fills the loneliness in Qian's heart. Though I wish he was a bit more straightforward, I completely root for him. It was cute watching him starts crushing on Qian and clings to him.

The acting was good, especially Kurt Huang who played Yuan really shines in his performance! His emotional burst was so profound, also his gaze and weariness of his unspoken feelings makes this drama much more compelling, along with the beautiful OST. Through the beautiful lyrics of the songs I felt the leads' burden. I don't get why the premise and characters emphasize their relationships as brothers turning into forbidden love as they’re not related by blood anyway. It feels unnecessarily conflicting. What I didn't enjoy was the gangster part that felt jarring, like watching another drama. Nevertheless, the finale was great, makes it worth every moment!

April 2024,
Find me on Instagram: @kdramajudge

Leia Mais

Esta resenha foi útil para você?
Completados
huhugoblin
12 pessoas acharam esta resenha útil
Abr 24, 2024
12 of 12 episódios vistos
Completados 0
No geral 6.0
História 5.5
Acting/Cast 8.0
Musical 5.5
Voltar a ver 4.0

Just Alright.

An average melodrama, not really grounded in reality in any way, but at least a semi-entertaining watch. The writing is overly indulgent and completely commits to all kinds of classic BL tropes and fantasies.

Qian was an interesting character. He was the parentified child who served as not only a brother, but a father, mother, and provider. Yuan had some of the more interesting emotional scenes, and because I love angst, I liked his portrayal of repressed feelings. Both of these characters didn’t really change all too much throughout the series, so their actions oftentimes felt repetitive. I liked Lili and thought the dynamic between the siblings felt real. There were a few times I thought Lili acted overly childish despite being in high school. One time being her basically outing Yuan by showing Qian his novels instead of just asking Yuan herself.

The actors had great chemistry. The main cast all had interesting dynamics, and character interactions felt genuine. There were also some good comedic moments. I liked the pacing, and I thought the episodes flowed well.

Despite having good characters, acting, chemistry, etc. the plot itself was nonsensical and founded on a bunch of unlikely scenarios. I was able to suspend my disbelief for most of the show, but most of the time the story came off as self-indulgent and cringey. For example, the workers casually chatting about their superiors’ sex life in the workplace was weird. (Though the fact they were also kissing at work is unrealistic in the first place, and really doubles down on BL fantasy logic). There was a lot of drama for drama’s sake. The tired tropes that were thrown in for dramatic effect were quickly glossed over as the plot moved forward. The only thing the plot had going for itself was the fact I was curious about what would happen next.

Overall, it was still an okay watch. If you’re interested in watching it, go ahead, you’ll probably be entertained and the main leads are both eye candy. Also be prepared to hear near-constant dramatic ballads in the background.

Leia Mais

Esta resenha foi útil para você?
Completados
Wang Ji El
9 pessoas acharam esta resenha útil
Abr 14, 2024
12 of 12 episódios vistos
Completados 0
No geral 8.5
História 8.5
Acting/Cast 8.5
Musical 9.0
Voltar a ver 7.5

Unusally Ordinary!!

At first, I was not sure...if I wanted to start watching this drama. I have nothing interesting to watch that time, so I started watching this drama. I clearly remember I completed 4 episodes at once. And I can definitely say, I am glad I watched this drama.

Then again, the story is very ordinary (in a good way tho......many people might disagree with me on this but it is just my opinion LOL). Like I always say, It is the portrayal, the acting and the way the story progresses is all that matters to me. So yeah, coming to the story, if you've read the description of the story....you will have an entire idea of what you are going to experience in this drama.

Coming to the acting, I can say it is good. I can't call it excellent. The reason is, I felt like their acting in few episodes/scenes can be a lot more improvised(especially the way how Wei Qian reacted towards his sister's relationship) . Maybe it might be because of the story too(I am not able to identify the exact reason....but I definitely felt that way...). The actors are all good tho. They all did fit their characters really well.

Finally, kudos to the team and the actors for giving us a nice and enjoyable drama. I cannot guarantee that it will be an excellent watch. If you liked the description of the drama mentioned in MDL page, then you might really really like this one.

PS: Lacks few things!! But definitely enjoyable....GO WATCH IT !!!!

Leia Mais

Esta resenha foi útil para você?
Completados
MysticalQuill
7 pessoas acharam esta resenha útil
Abr 20, 2024
12 of 12 episódios vistos
Completados 0
No geral 10
História 9.5
Acting/Cast 10
Musical 10
Voltar a ver 10

Heartwarming, Heartbreaking and a true portrayal of love

"Unknown" defies expectations and transcends clichés, delivering a drama experience that is both refreshingly simple and profoundly complex. In a landscape inundated with convoluted plots and gratuitous melodrama, this series stands out as a beacon of genuine emotion and raw authenticity.

At its core, "Unknown" is a story about found family and the transformative power of love. It eschews sensationalism in favor of exploring the intricate dynamics between two young men who, despite their tumultuous pasts, find solace and strength in each other's arms. This is not a tale of taboo romance or scandalous affairs; rather, it is a tender portrayal of two individuals navigating the complexities of their own identities and forging a bond that defies societal norms.

Central to the narrative is the journey of Yuan and Qian, whose evolving relationship serves as the emotional heartbeat of the series. Yuan's unwavering devotion to Qian, coupled with Qian's gradual realization of his own feelings, forms the crux of a narrative that is as heart-wrenching as it is heartwarming. Theirs is a love that transcends boundaries, defying the constraints of conventionality to embrace the pure essence of human connection.

What sets "Unknown" apart is its unflinching portrayal of the characters' inner turmoil and vulnerability. Through nuanced performances and poignant storytelling, the series delves deep into the psyche of its protagonists, laying bare their insecurities, fears, and ultimately, their capacity for growth and redemption. It is a testament to the resilience of the human spirit and the transformative power of love in all its forms.

While "Unknown" may not boast the grandiose spectacle or high-stakes drama of its counterparts (and the editing in some parts may need a second look at), it more than compensates with its profound emotional depth and resonant themes. This is a series that invites viewers to embrace the beauty of simplicity and immerse themselves in the rich tapestry of human emotion. To those hesitant to embark on this journey, I implore you to set aside preconceptions and open your heart to the profound beauty of "Unknown".

Leia Mais

Esta resenha foi útil para você?
Completados
Mademoiselle Noir
6 pessoas acharam esta resenha útil
Abr 20, 2024
12 of 12 episódios vistos
Completados 0
No geral 10
História 9.5
Acting/Cast 10
Musical 8.5
Voltar a ver 10

I can sum up this drama with two words: A Need

Where do I even begin to review this drama?

This was a deliciously teasing slow burn, with the tension (and my anticipation) only rising with each new episode. It wound up getting crazy hype; I'm of the belief it was deserved.

They paid attention to the details here: From meaningful items that come up/are shown in the background—even quietly revealing to the viewers how things are progressing—and minute shifts in framing and lighting of scenes to detailed dialogue with weight, symbolism, and double meanings.

Impressively, while the subject matter was often serious, they somehow smoothly incorporated belly-aching comedic moments as well.

Finally, I would be remiss not to praise the actors, as not only the MLs but every side character nailed their roles.

My only real critique: While the music was great, far too many times, it came on too strong during a pivotal scene.

I would absolutely recommend watching this!

Side Note: Can we talk about the FLIRTING game here?! Not just Xiao Yuan but Wei Qian was freaking smooth as butter. Like, damn, man!

Leia Mais

Esta resenha foi útil para você?
Completados
haleku
5 pessoas acharam esta resenha útil
Abr 22, 2024
12 of 12 episódios vistos
Completados 0
No geral 8.5
História 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Musical 7.5
Voltar a ver 10
Esta resenha pode conter spoilers

Great start, meh ending

The first section is spoiler-free:
This is one of the series that had me hooked once the characters were played by the main actors. Waiting for the next episode was truely painful and every week was too long. It was the first time I read the book the series is based on because I couldn't wait for the next episode to air. It has a really high rewatch value up until around episode 10.
The series is for anyone interested in angsty characters, slow burn and trauma/drama. The characters feel like real people, the dialogues are just so natural. Chris was an amazing actor and I loved rewatching episodes to focus on his facial expressions. Although there were many known tropes or story points, they managed to twist it so it wasn't too predictable or if it was, it was still extremely engaging. And because of these things, I was kind of disappointed in how the series ended. Overall I would say it was worth watching, and if I'd binge-watched it, I might feel differently. But because I waited 10 weeks for it to finish, the ending wasn't as satisfying as I had hoped. I was certain this would be my second 10/10, but sadly the ending wasn't as cohesive as before and the more I think about choices in the script, the less I like the ending.

Spoilers ahead:



The more I think about the last three episodes, the less happy I am with a lot of the choices. Some of the choices felt so out of character. Qian would never let Yuan kiss him in the office. Why did they insert so many montages and why did the montages include the same scenes? We don't need more than one montage in every episode... WHY did they show Yuan as a kid when they had the NC scene? I liked how they started in the middle of kissing and then went back to the beginning, but why insert so many montages in between? Yuan and Qian didn't really talk the last three episodes. From episode 7? to around 10 they were constantly talking about how they feel, but once they have sex, they do not talk about anything except for Qian's illness anymore. It just felt so empty suddently. They made a lot of scenes just to get a few laughs, and while they were funny, they didn't fit the characters too well (Qian finding out Lily is pregnant and going after San Pang, getting kissed at the office, hearing how the others debate who's top and who's bottom etc).
It just felt like they couldn't use some of the material they shot and had to improvise by adding a lot of filler or montages.

I think I'm just a little disappointed because the series was able to turn typical plot points (e.g. Yuan getting beat up by the gang and Yuan and Qian having a near-death experience) into something where I was actively stressed out or engaged in general, but the last episodes didn't feel like they belonged to the first 9.

Leia Mais

Esta resenha foi útil para você?
Unknown (2024) poster

Detalhes

Estatísticas

  • Pontuação: 8.5 (avaliado por 8,212 usuários)
  • Classificado: #609
  • Popularidade: #1012
  • Fãs: 16,128

Principais Contribuidores

edições 59
edições 34
edições 32
edições 27

Listas populares

Listas relacionadas de usuários
Best BL Drama
274 titles 2302 voters 510 loves 36
Taiwanese BL Master List
161 titles 482 loves 8
Upcoming dramas
463 titles 150 loves 4

Assistido recentemente por