Completados
Coral1n3_idn
25 pessoas acharam esta resenha útil
Mar 21, 2024
38 of 38 episódios vistos
Completados 0
No geral 10
História 10
Acting/Cast 10
Musical 10
Voltar a ver 10

Through the Storm: Wei Ruolai’s Riveting Tale in ‘War of Faith"

The pacing of this series is praiseworthy; it maintains a swift tempo without sacrificing the complexity of the story. Each episode builds upon the previous one, creating an engaging tapestry of events that leaves viewers eagerly awaiting the next twist. The narrative never drags, ensuring that the audience's curiosity is consistently sparked.

Wang Yibo's portrayal of Wei Ruolai is a highlight of the series. His delicate performance accurately captures the multifaceted nature of his character. From the evident disappointment and heartbreak felt during his rejection at the central bank to the raw, unfiltered grief displayed at the loss of his brother, Wang Yibo's range is fully showcased. He conveys the innocence of a newcomer in the political maze, contrasting with the depth of his sorrow, demonstrating his strong acting skills.

The series excels in humanizing the political narrative through its characters. Wang Yibo's Wei Ruolai is not merely a pawn in the grand scheme of espionage and finance; he is a credible figure whose personal growth and emotional journey are as central to the story as the broader historical context. His interactions with other characters, especially with senior advisor Shen Tu Nan and the mysterious Shen Jin Zhen, add layers of complexity to his role.

I must add that Wang Yibo’s portrayal of Wei Ruolai is truly exceptional. We can observe how much the character has evolved from the beginning of the drama until now. The progression is remarkable!

Leia Mais

Esta resenha foi útil para você?
Completados
romcomqueen
15 pessoas acharam esta resenha útil
Abr 7, 2024
38 of 38 episódios vistos
Completados 0
No geral 10
História 10
Acting/Cast 10
Musical 10
Voltar a ver 10
Esta resenha pode conter spoilers

War of Faith: Best Financial Espionage Drama

History would tell us that Shanghai in the 1930s was, to say the least, wild. In the midst of all of this, enters a poor young man named Wei Ruolai, played by Wang Yibo. Wei Ruolai has little to no money, came from a province controlled by the communist party, and was having a hard time receiving his diploma. It's a recipe for a bleak future. But with grit, determination, and his genius brain, he managed to secure a place at the Central Bank and work alongside distinguished officials like Shen Tunan, played by Wang Yang. Here begins the gripping story of Wei Ruolai finding his faith and fighting for it. No matter the cost.

To be completely honest, I am a fan of Wang Yibo. His acting has been improving rapidly and all his films released in 2023 were a massive success so naturally, I was looking forward to this drama. However, I was not expecting to get so much out of this than I actually did. Republican era drama is my least favorite genre in dramaland. It's suit porn but I think this genre is the least famous internationally for a reason and my username is what it is, also for a reason (LOL), I watch romcoms and healing dramas! It's a finance drama set in the 1930s-- how riveting could it be to watch people talk numbers, right? Boyyyyy, was I so wrong!

The story is told in the ML's POV. Viewers get taken along his journey of finding his place in the world, finding confidence in himself, and finding his passion only to lose them all. He goes through a series of pain, heartaches, and grief-- and in the midst of it finds his true faith and his true passion. We see the ML transform several times throughout this drama. Through this journey, viewers also get shown the world of finance during the troubled times of the 1930s. We see how finance plays such a huge role in war and economics. We see people's greed. We see how innocent people get sacrificed, and we see how the government can turn a blind eye.

The series in itself is very action-packed. There is no dull moment and the story keeps moving very rapidly. A lot happens in the first 4 episodes to set-up the drama but everything that happens in the story has meaning. No fillers. It's 38 episodes but it is very fast-paced without sacrificing compelling and complex storylines. Every episode makes you want to watch more. I was watching earnestly and the foreshadowing in this drama is so smooth and clean that I probably missed some tiny details along the way. I'm already excited to rewatch this drama now that I know what I'm looking for!

This is an original IP so my hat is off to the screenwriter and the director for creating such a marvelous piece of art in television. The cinematography in this drama is also of high quality that is rarely seen in c-ent. It felt like watching a movie, and despite the 2.5 weeks of airtime, I wish the story goes on. I want to see more.

The casting of this drama is also top-notch. No holes anywhere. Everyone down to the little girl acted so incredibly well. Wang Yibo was such a star in this production and it is his best acting to date! Wang Yibo's Wei Ruolai feels so incredibly human and real. He conveys very complex emotions with his eyes and his face. His performance is so captivating because of the precision and nuance he gives the character. You can feel through the screen every single thing that Wei Ruolai feels throughout the drama-- and to be honest, it was a lot to handle!!! This drama also spanned 6 years and many transformations for Wang Yibo's character and if you compare his transformations, you can clearly see the contrast between each one. From his starry-eyed full of hope young man, through the disappointments and desperation, and to becoming an integral part of the communist party. Wang Yibo did such a stellar job and as a fan, I am so incredibly proud.

Wang Yang, Li Qin, and the rest of the supporting characters also deserve their flowers. Everyone was captured in such a humanized way that you can feel empathy for every character. You believe everyone's storylines and you get to feel that a lot of the big players in this drama are morally gray. Everybody had their purpose and I was hooked! The storyline and acting did its thing for me. I hated who they wanted me to hate, and cried for the ones they wanted me to cry for. I've never felt a story so real and close to me like this in a very long time. Certainly not in c-dramaland, and not in a Republican era drama. A gem of a find for me is Lan Xiya who played Niu Chunmiao. She was introduced halfway through the story with such a very firecracker of an entrance. I loved Niu Chunmiao as a character and I loved Lan Xiya for her talent in acting. She's so new and young but her ability to act is very high. I'm so impressed with her just as I was impressed with her character. Another treasured character for me is Wei Ruolai's best friend, A'Wen played by Li Weilong. A'Wen allowed us to see many layers to Wei Ruolai so very early on in a drama. Also, special shoutout to Zhang Tianyang's Lin Qiaosong-- he put me through the ringer all 38 episodes!

Lastly, the music. I think all I gotta say is Zhou Shen.

This has been a very long review but if you're still with me, please go watch War Of Faith. It will be worth every second of your time. You can find out how apropos the English title War of Faith is. And if you don't believe how a Republican drama can be so good, check it out yourself! :)

Leia Mais

Esta resenha foi útil para você?
Completados
PeachBlossomGoddess Flower Award1
11 pessoas acharam esta resenha útil
7 dias atrás
38 of 38 episódios vistos
Completados 2
No geral 8.0
História 8.0
Acting/Cast 8.5
Musical 8.0
Voltar a ver 7.0

Winning hearts and minds.

Amidst the economic hardship and political upheaval of 1930s Shanghai, War of Faith explores the financial underpinnings of the Communist Party of China's (CPC) eventual military victory over the Kuomintang. This story unfolds from the perspective of Wei Ruolai, a young financial prodigy who becomes entangled in the ideological struggle that defined that era. The narrative deftly avoids lengthy ideological discourse by framing the struggle as largely an economic one. It was a time of economic hardship for the common working class people from the cities to the countryside. While politically aware, most of them were were not conversant in the finer points of the political and ideological debate. Their needs were basic and winning hearts and minds came down to being responsible fiduciaries of their hard earned savings and livelihoods.

Shen Tunan is a savvy central banker with grand plans to reform and strengthen the local banks and loosen the grip of foreign banks to unleash China's economic potential. A true believer in the Kuomintang's Three Principles of the People, he is nonetheless a pragmatist is willing to compromise and look the other way in order to achieve his objectives. The evolving mentee-mentor relationship between Shen Tunan and Wei Ruolai is compellingly articulated by Wang Yang and Wang Yibo and bolstered by good chemistry between the actors. Their mutual respect did not waver even as it became evident that their bottom lines diverge. Wang Yibo surprised and delighted me with his portrayal of a quietly clever young man's coming of age. His Wei Ruolai is idealistic but not naïve, can be ruthless but is not cruel and is loyal but not unquestioning.

All three main protagonists in this drama have a shared vision of the kind of future they want for their country but there are deep divisions between them on how to get there. Shen Tunan understands there is rot in the system but is willing to compromise and work within in; to try to fix it. Shen Jinzhen thinks it is not fixable and wants to tear it all down and start over. She is radical to the point of being almost fanatical and shockingly bold and ruthless in how she executes her vision. I have even greater respect for Li Qin, who also elevates her repertoire as an actor in this role. The relationship between the Shen siblings and their painful conflict is a highlight of this drama. They are both so strong willed and their conviction in their opposing beliefs is as strong as their love and respect for each other. The narrative does a fantastic job illustrating that the country is an extension of the family so when the rubber meets the road, they are first loyal to each other. As the newcomer without any particular ideology, Wei Ruolai is caught between them and ultimately in his choice, becomes the de factor arbiter of the better path forward.

The darkest, most complicated, ultimately despicable and yet oddly empathetic character in this drama is Lin Qiaosong, arrestingly portrayed by Zhang Tianyang. Even though he is not the smartest villain, he has great instincts and a healthy though grudging respect for his enemies He is brutal and incredibly hard to kill yet has a moving and tender side for his lover. I haven't enjoyed a villain so much in a long time. The other notable performance in this all round standout cast is newbie actor Lan Xiya's Niu Chunmiao. This smart, audacious and plucky character added some much needed levity to this story and saves the day a few times as well.

I enjoyed this drama quite a bit but I wouldn't really call it a spy drama. It is more of a business story with some ideology and some action mixed in. The writers do a terrific job making the rather dry financial aspects of banking and finance accessible and movingly relate it to how the lives of the common people are disproportionately impacted by malfeasance and corruption in the financial system. Overall a very interesting and somewhat educational slice of life from an era of profound change that I am happy rate 8/10.

Leia Mais

Esta resenha foi útil para você?
Completados
AnuV
7 pessoas acharam esta resenha útil
Abr 7, 2024
38 of 38 episódios vistos
Completados 0
No geral 10
História 10
Acting/Cast 10
Musical 10
Voltar a ver 10
Esta resenha pode conter spoilers

Go watch it ... It's that good!

I have never watched a republican era drama... I have almost nil knowledge of Chinese history and i zero knowledge of capital market. That said.. this drama have all these aspects and i thoroughly enjoyed all 38 episodes. Each episode keeps you on the edge.

About Plot;
The journey which began with the sparkly eyed poor mathematical genius, a 23 year old young boy called Wei Ruolai and his ambition leads to such a rollercoaster ride.

A very commendable mentor-mentee relationship which is the foundation of this story all built on their Mutua love and respect for each other and how it transforms over the years while both stick to their ideology believing that's what the people of China needs is the heart of the story.

I laughed, I cried, I had 6 people on my hitlist before 10th episodes.

This drama keeps the audience engaged ,where u feel for the characters, their pain their helplessness their anger feels like yours.

About Cast:
Wang Yibo! what a commendable actor! Wang Yibo's interpretation of Wei Ruolai makes you root for him. You wait for his smile , you wanna slap the people who hurts him. He is that good! C-ent should be proud to have this young and extremely talented actor.
Wang Yang, Li Qin being the lead role in this series, they played their roles very well. Wang yang have that very polite intellectual who loves his family and his mentee and his country. He is the one who has to make choices most of the time and he has to fight the ones he love. Li Qin gave a powerful interpretation of young lady driven by the thought of doing good for her nation and she is ready to go to may extreme length for that.

All the supporting castes of this series played a very amazing role that each of them stays with u..


I can write a book about this story I guess and I will surely miss all of them!

Leia Mais

Esta resenha foi útil para você?
Em andamento 36/38
Ririri123
6 pessoas acharam esta resenha útil
Abr 7, 2024
36 of 38 episódios vistos
Em andamento 0
No geral 10
História 10
Acting/Cast 10
Musical 10
Voltar a ver 9.0

Arguably one of the best dramas I've watched in a while. And I've seen a LOT of dramas. ?

I don't even make reviews on here, but I felt this drama deserved it. I've seen reviews on here get super long, so I'll try to keep it short. 😅

Firstly, the story is AMAZING. If you're someone who loves twists and turns, hardship and happiness galore, this drama is the one for you. I'm not even a fan of delving into Republican era C-dramas, but this one got me HOOKED from ep 1 and there was truly no going back.

Our main characters Wei Ruolai, Shen Tunan and Shen Jinzhen are amazing in their roles. You'll find yourself attached to not only the drama itself, but to majority of the characters instantly. The acting is very raw and the show addresses some very real things. From corrupt officials in finance and politics, to reflection through warfare and poverty; it showcases very upsetting circumstances that can be applied to current real-world occurrences, making you resonate further with the show. I often caught myself tearing up to which at some point turned into bawling my eyes out. 😭

The third best take-away besides the story and characters is the MUSIC!! The soundtrack is amazing, and the arrangement couldn't be more fitting to this show. The bgm heavily influences the happiness or bone-chilling influence a scene can have. Without a doubt, I'm adding to spotify the second it officially releases. 😆 Lastly, my lowest rating above is a 9 for rewatch value, purely for the reason that I don't want to suffer the emotional turmoil I went though again. 🤣 But overall, it's a 10/10 experience for me (despite my mental health being quite literally compromised by these scriptwriters). ☺️

Leia Mais

Esta resenha foi útil para você?
Completados
bookshop
4 pessoas acharam esta resenha útil
Abr 7, 2024
38 of 38 episódios vistos
Completados 0
No geral 10
História 10
Acting/Cast 10
Musical 10
Voltar a ver 10

One of the best dramas — ever

War of Faith isn't just one of the best C-dramas I've ever seen, it's one of the best, most riveting, powerful dramas I've ever seen, full stop. The writing is superb, completely packed with suspense, interesting plot twists, seamless character development throughout, and a plot that builds to a fully satisfying finish.

I need to emphasize this, because this show is SO tense, so full of unease and uncertainty, while also being so canny and subtextually sharp about the lengths people will go to for the sake of ideology, and how terrifying and ruthless they can be regardless of which ideologies they're a part of. Although the text is typical glowing propaganda for the red army, it's also full of philosophical rumination on power and what a political party owes to its people; the subtext never stops reminding us that the Communist party mirrors the Kuomintang in multiple ways. It's fully possible to read this entire show, for all its overt support of the party, as a tacit critique of the modern-day CCP. There are moments when I found the sheer zealotry of the characters as dark and disturbing as anything else happening onscreen, and I believe that was fully intentional.

These are easily among the best roles Li Qin, Wang Yang, Wang Yibo, and Zhang Tianyang have ever done, and all of them as well as the magnificent ensemble are perfectly cast; the level of acting from this group is next-level. Wang Yibo is magnificent as plucky young financial genius turned ultimate strategist Wei Ruolai—this is a performance full of depth and nuance and strength, a performance to permanently silence critics who think he hasn't earned every bit of his tremendous success. Li Qin is an absolute badass as Shen Jinzhen, but also blends her strength with a terrifying level of single-minded belief in the Communist agenda, to the point where she becomes a microcosm of the CCP's power to control and direct its followers. But it's Wang Yang who deserves the most praise for his work in an absolute mindfuck of a role. He is phenomenal here, giving the performance of multiple lifetimes as Shen Tunan, Jinzhen's older brother and Ruolai's idol, personal hero, and mentor. Over the course of these 38 episodes Tunan's loyalties are stretched in every direction, and you will spend the last half of this show second-guessing everything you think you know about the first half because of the way Wang Yang steers his character through the darkest, murkiest waters. It's also genuinely so homoerotic you will think you're watching a BL (one with queer-coded characters all over the place), and the intense chemistry between Wei Ruolai and Shen Tunan carries a show that's already unbelievably good to a whole different level of exciting.

This show is so well directed, and every aspect of the production is meticulous and lavish and beautiful, from the Shanghai cityscapes to the wardrobe details to the beautiful score to the outstanding fight scenes and even the symbolic color-coded lighting design. Everything is pointed, nothing feels superfluous, and the ending lands every plot and emotional beat.

If indeed we get a War of Faith 2, I'll be perched on the edge of my seat all over again.

Leia Mais

Esta resenha foi útil para você?
Completados
Le Ho
3 pessoas acharam esta resenha útil
Abr 9, 2024
38 of 38 episódios vistos
Completados 0
No geral 9.0
História 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Musical 8.0
Voltar a ver 9.0
Esta resenha pode conter spoilers

I don't like Republican Era drama, but this is an exceptional one with great acting.

War of Faith is the Republican Era drama about the rise and fall of the Koumingtang Central Bank during the 1930s in Shanghai. Led by Wang Yibo, Wang Yang, and Li Qin.

I don't like the Republican Era dramas because most of them have the same theme and a lot of propaganda about the rise of the communist Party and the patriotism of the Party during the Japanese invasion of China from the 1930s to 1945. War of Faith is a bit different, with good script and exceptional acting by Wang Yang, Wang YiBo, and LiQin.

Synopsis: Set in 1930s Shanghai, Wei Ruo Lai, an ordinary employee at the Kuomintang Central Bank, rises through the ranks due to his exceptional abilities, catching the attention of the senior advisor, Shen Tu Nan. However, as he confronts the corruption within the Kuomintang's financial realm, his path diverges from Shen Tu Nan's. A chance encounter with Shen Jin Zhen leads him to make different choices.

Transferred to Jiangxi as part of the Party's plan, Wei Ruo Lai became a key player in the non-military battle to break the Kuomintang's economic blockade on the Central Soviet Area. This unfolds his journey of evolving from a Kuomintang insider to a formidable red financier under the unwavering leadership of the Communist Party.

My Reviews:
1. The Republican-era dramas all have the same storyline and are predictable. They took place in Shanghai from the mid-1930s to 1945, with the introduction of the rise of the Communist Party and its triumph at the end of WW2 after it defeated the Japanese with the help of the Americans.
2. I am done with the Republican-era genre, but this one is unique because the main leads' acting is so good.
3. Yibo showed his best acting talents in this drama compared to his other dramas. Exceptional acting from Yibo, Li Qin, and Wang Yang. I adored Wang Yang, he is a seasoned actor.
4. The script is good and focuses less on the Japanese invasion than other Republican dramas. It focuses mainly on the greed and corruption of the Kuomingtang Party and their brutality against people, especially the communist people.
5. The brutal crimes and politics behind the rise and fall of the Central Bank's financial market were luring and engaging.
6. There is no romance between Wei Rou Lai and Shen Jin Zhen, even though her brother wants it to be. They love and respect each other but never confess their love for each other.
7. Sadly, Shen Jin Zhen died in episode 36 due to the ambush of Captain Lin.
8. Zhang Tian Yang was awesome as Captain Lin in this drama. It is his best acting job thus far. He was okay and mediocre in other dramas, but he was good at playing the brutal and bad guy in this drama.

I greatly enjoyed this drama and gave it a 9.0 rating because of the ensemble's exceptional acting.

Leia Mais

Esta resenha foi útil para você?
Completados
JCC
3 pessoas acharam esta resenha útil
Abr 8, 2024
38 of 38 episódios vistos
Completados 0
No geral 9.0
História 9.5
Acting/Cast 9.0
Musical 4.0
Voltar a ver 10

This film is worth watching.

This drama kept my attention from the first to the last episode. This drama is not for the weak goodie two-shoe person. All of the actors and actresses portrayed their characters very well. The story was suspenseful throughout the drama. What was good about the story was that it kept you guessing and wondering what was next, who would survive, and who wasn't. Wang Yibo did an exceptional job in his role. Lin Qin is always great, she is one of my two favorite actresses. This is my first time seeing Wang Yang and he was also very impressive. Zhang Tian-Yang portrayed the bad “good” person so well that the good viewers couldn’t wait to get rid of him. The story also gave the viewers an idea of how the communist-Soviet Union got started and the selling points of why communism was necessary for the masses at that time.

Leia Mais

Esta resenha foi útil para você?
Completados
Yoyo Jae
3 pessoas acharam esta resenha útil
Abr 8, 2024
38 of 38 episódios vistos
Completados 0
No geral 10
História 10
Acting/Cast 10
Musical 10
Voltar a ver 10
Esta resenha pode conter spoilers

War of Faith | A "Long March" of the heart and mind

10/10 ... an EPIC and SUPERLATIVE production
There have been some very good Cdramas over the years ... from the ones I have watched, this series is at the pinnacle ... the script, the production, the sets, the score and the acting ... better than 10/10 ... it was an absolute 100/10 for me ... from episode 1 right through to episode 38. The story and pacing, the acting and production never dropped ... it just kept getting better and better. Put all together I have never felt for drama characters as much as I felt for the characters in this story ... it was so life like, so replicated the gut wrenching, gritty tragic realities of life lived in chaos. Wang Yibo ... my god ... he blew my mind with his acting ... his acting was a force of nature ... every nuance, every microexpression ... he totally nailed it, TOTALLY.

It has kept me on edge all the way through. The sets and the cinematographic atmosphere really brought the story 'alive' ... I can almost smell the bank and the alley ways ... feel the roughness and smell of the clothing ... the coldness of the water when Wei Ruolei washes his face .... so well acted and produced ... it really gets you into the lives of the characters.

The story is nerve wracking ... the cruelty and sheer struggle to survive ... the 'cheapness' of human life starkly contrasts with the lives and lifestyles of those well-endowed with money and status. I couldn't help but wonder how many people in the world are like Wei Ruolai ... people who have such brilliance and passion ... but who never get to 'bloom' ... they are lost to the 'world' because they got trampled under the heavy feet of ideology, status and money.

I was deeply moved by the rawness of the environmental and personal reality of war ... the ideological wars of faith, economic wars of faith (within China and those internationals with vested interests in China e.g. German and Japan) ... and the psychological wars that goes on in the hearts and minds of each and every individual to survive and protect what is important to them ... not just the high level stuff of ideology, morals, ethics etc but the day to day requirements of survival ... food, clothing, shelter, safety and an inbuilt desire to 'thrive' ... how to navigate betrayal and the death of loved ones, how to manage the onslaught of chaos, the overwhelming sense of powerlessness and despair ... in this sense not one character in this series was a gap filler, every single character and NPC was relevant ... they showed that this internal war is one that wages in the hearts and minds of every human being regardless of time, country or ideology ... making this series a truly powerful and profound multi-level drama ... I am blown way.

For all these characters it really was a 'long march' of heart and soul and not just the Long March of the Red Army from Jiangxi

A great sadness for me was how the powers to be (regardless of which ideology they held) used people like Qian Song and Tu Nan to be their tools ... weapons of mass destruction that were manipulated and used by the powers to be so they did not have to get their hands dirtied with the blood, sweat and tears and guts of all the people and children that fell victim to their game play ... such tragedy ... what makes it even worse is that despite hopeful beginnings ... there is not one organisation on this planet that hasn't succumbed to the power hungry who use ideology and systems for their own benefit at the cost of the people it was meant to support.

I was so glad of the ending ... Jin Zhen 'saving' her brother after she had died ... not just with a bullet proof vest but with her 'faith' as well ... (´╥︵╥`) that was so moving. Tu Nan revealing his true faith after he shot Qian Song and pointed the gun at Rou Lai ... (´╥︵╥`) and their final coming together as 'brothers' ... OMG I was in tears.

Just as an FYI (from Wiki pedia) The Long March (referred to in this last episode) was a military retreat by the Red Army from advancing Nationalist forces during the Chinese Civil War in 1934 through 1936.
The most famous of these marches was undertaken by the First Red Army under the leadership of Mao Zedong. Departing from their headquarters in the southern province of Jiangxi on 16 October 1934, the 65,000-person First Army marched more than 9,000 kilometres (5,600 mi) in a large clockwise arc through the western frontiers of the country, ultimately meeting with other Communist forces in Yan'an on 19 October 1935. The circuitous route brought the First Army through some of the most difficult terrain in the country while pursued by the Nationalists: at first the NRA under Chiang Kai-Shek, and later by local cliques of Nationalist-aligned warlords. Fewer than 8,000 people traveling with the First Red Army survived the march.

A War of Faith indeed ... well worth watching and definitely worthy of repeat watches ... 100% recommend it.

Leia Mais

Esta resenha foi útil para você?
Completados
virgievirgie Flower Award1
3 pessoas acharam esta resenha útil
Abr 21, 2024
38 of 38 episódios vistos
Completados 2
No geral 8.5
História 8.5
Acting/Cast 10
Musical 8.0
Voltar a ver 8.0

Excellent acting & chemistry but a little long and not always exciting.

Wang Yi Bo probably attracted many viewers to “War of Faith”. Serious Chinese Republican era dramas are usually not very popular. However, I wish viewers who came for Wang Yi Bo would stay for the rest of the amazing cast members. I cannot stop praising how good the acting is in this drama.

I watch this because of Wang Yang and Li Qin, and they are both AMAZING. It’s not a surprise that Wang Yang is excellent, as he’s a veteran who excels in any role he plays. I love him in “The Rebel” where he gave a similar vibe and acting performance as in “War of Faith”. I even watched the business rom-com “Stand or Fall” for him and Qin Lan. He’s charismatic, sexy and has screen presence. He’s the MVP of this drama.

On the other hand, Li Qin surprises me the most. I’ve seen her in many other dramas, but not the serious ones such as “The Youth Memories”. But I am a fan. I even watched’ Thousand Years for You” for Li Qin. Her acting performance exceeds my expectations. She plays a strong, underground Communist sniper/assassin. Then she turned around and became an elegant high society lady. There are quite a few emotional scenes where she had to control her emotions and others where she had to let it all out.

Wang Yang and Li Qin’s sibling relationship is the best relationship in the whole drama. They play off each other so well. They care and support each other, they bicker and joke. But in the second half of the drama, when things get serious and dangerous, they have a few very, very emotional scenes. It was hard to see them both wanting what’s best for China and its people, but have such different beliefs and ways of achieving that.

Another standout performance for me is from Zhang Tian Yang. I’ve seen many of his dramas but they are never memorable enough for me to remember him. I was reminded that he’s the emperor from “A Journey to Love” and that’s such a different role than the one in “War of Faith”. But what a great performance here as well, and he suddenly is in a role where he’s hot and sexy. LOL.

Of course, we have Wang Yi Bo. He’s also pretty solid in this drama and probably the best I’ve seen him. Though the drama centers around his character’s growth and journey, his performance did not stand out for me. He’s still pretty good, but this drama has such a big cast and everyone is so good that it’s hard to stand out.

The rest of the supporting cast, young and old, novice or veteran, are all amazing. In fact, I feel that I am constantly in awe of everyone’s acting, that I am not really paying attention to the plot as much. This is one of the rare Republican era dramas that focuses so much on the finance world and stock market. The spy stuff seems secondary to the business world. I personally feel that 38 episodes are too long. The drama is unable to hold my attention from start to end. I am more interested in individual characters and their relationships, more so than the bigger plot.

I also would not recommend you watching this if you are looking for romance. There are two established couples in the drama. This is not a romantic drama, but I do have to say the limited screen time that these two couples have, they are amazing. They are mature, supportive and they survive through tough times. These women are tough as nails and they are their men’s biggest supporters.

Here are some other areas I enjoy. I love the actors using their own voices and the live recording. The live recording really enhances the viewing pleasure in emotional scenes. There’s no rom-com skin smoothing or white filter. You see the natural looks, flaws and all. All the characters are intelligent. They do not make dumb decisions that are out of character, and you applaud them trying to outsmart each other. The villains are not cartoonish, they just have different interests and beliefs. You also do not hear the OST blasting songs at weird times. In fact, there’s an episode where I did not notice any music until the ending theme starts to play. This drama is full of meaningful conversations and dialogs, and you do need to pay attention to truly understand each character’s motives.

I would recommend this drama for its excellent acting and great production. Your enjoyment level probably depends on whether you are a fan of this genre and finance talks. It is also to be expected that there’s a lot of ‘propaganda’, but to me, it’s just telling China’s history and the rise of Communism. I think the drama is too long and the plot doesn’t keep me on the edge of my seat enough. Overall, it is a great drama and truly a War of Faith and Beliefs.



Completed: 4/21/2024 - Review #430

Leia Mais

Esta resenha foi útil para você?
Em andamento 24/38
wangxian5
5 pessoas acharam esta resenha útil
Mar 31, 2024
24 of 38 episódios vistos
Em andamento 6
No geral 10
História 9.5
Acting/Cast 10
Musical 10
Voltar a ver 10

Have faith

Well-paced, intriguing, no holds barred drama with a very solid cast. With Wang Yibo, Li Qin and Wang Yang as leads, this drama draws me in from the very first minute and never lets up. Beautiful cinematography sets each scene, ready to impress me, and impress me it did. The production quality of War of Faith is top notch.

Ideals woven into subplots, this drama makes you rethink your red line and humanity. Characters that come from different backgrounds may converge if their beliefs and faith meet..or not.

Wang Yang is debonair, exuding such confidence into his character. He is new to me and I’m impressed. Li Qin is an accomplished actress, portraying Shen Jinzhen superbly. Wang Yibo continues to soar to new heights, worthy of every accolade given by industry peers.

If you have any doubts about starting this drama, I urge you to simply give it a try before forming any preconceived judgment, it may surprise you.

Leia Mais

Esta resenha foi útil para você?
Completados
WhiteRose
1 pessoas acharam esta resenha útil
20 dias atrás
38 of 38 episódios vistos
Completados 0
No geral 9.0
História 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Musical 9.0
Voltar a ver 9.0
Esta resenha pode conter spoilers

Must watch engaging and entertaining drama

I haven't thought I am gonna enjoy this drama this much.Its has such a great ride with twists and turns.
It was a very fast ride from 1 to 30 episodes.I havnt liked the drama after it moved from Shanghai.
3 people killed me with their acting.
"Zhang tian yang" -omg what an acting!Such a ruthless Villon.Caring lover.
If we can see romance in this drama then it's because of his character only.such a good job.
Wang yang- such a great character who live just for the country and it's growth.The bond bw him and WYB was awesome.Its very nice to see them both in same screen sharing tutor and student bonding.His acting is top notch showing minute expressions in his face to express each feelings.
Finally Wang yi bo- I can see he has given his full dedication to this character.He justfied his character through his great acting.way to go bobo.

Leia Mais

Esta resenha foi útil para você?
Guang Ming Zhi Lu (2024) poster

Detalhes

Estatísticas

  • Pontuação: 8.3 (avaliado por 636 usuários)
  • Classificado: #996
  • Popularidade: #4134
  • Fãs: 3,054

Principais Contribuidores

edições 171
edições 143
edições 43
edições 38

Listas populares

Listas relacionadas de usuários

Assistido recentemente por