Em andamento 39/39
silktrees
151 pessoas acharam esta resenha útil
Mar 26, 2024
39 of 39 episódios vistos
Em andamento 1
No geral 10
História 10
Acting/Cast 10
Musical 10
Voltar a ver 10

Best xianxia since ten miles of peach blossom

the sound design in this drama is GORGEOUS, like god tier. really you can always tell a drama is going to be explosive when the crew excels with the sound and i am big on sound design. especially being an avid fan of western works like Dune, Game of thrones, Westworld, Instellar (and literally every single Christopher Nolan work).

Haven't been this engrossed in a xianxia drama like this since Ten miles of peach blossoms so that's telling enough. the cinematography, visuals and acting is just *chefs kiss*.
Esta resenha foi útil para você?
Completados
MsNotes
62 pessoas acharam esta resenha útil
Abr 6, 2024
39 of 39 episódios vistos
Completados 5
No geral 9.5
História 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.5
Musical 10
Voltar a ver 8.5

An Enchanting Xianxia after a while.

watching TLoSL was nothing but a whole fine ass experience. they don't really offer you a very exclusive tale but its —
• the beautifully crafted characters
• the insane chemistry
• soulful OST
• enchanting CGI
• demon serpent
• the emotional build-up
• impressive acting by leads

~ all that this drama brings in, has my heart. Grabbing our attention instantly from the first episode and taking us on a journey of a forbidden love story amongst a tropey xianxia, I was hooked. And this review is gonna be long haha.

Almost like any other Xianxias, its saving the world story with glorified God vs Chimei (evil spirit) fights and all that eternal thousands of years of saving the three realms stuff... but with gorgeously talented actors like Zhao Liying, Lin Gengxin, Zeng Li, Jackie Li, Xuan Lu and Xu Haiqiao, TLoSL builds up a great watching experience.

Shen Li. She is fierce. She is kind. She is practical. She is the coolest. Holding her spear firmly in one hand and Xingzhi on the other, she protects everyone. The amount of patience, courage and discipline this woman owns... no wonder almost everyone worships her.

She is not perfect, but a character you can look up to. unrestricted to any feminine stereotypes, you'll see her taking charge often... there was something very delicate about Zhao Liying playing this role that she never came off as arrogant or overrated, not even for once... only a versatile goddess can slay such a character.

On the other hand, Xingzhi, the aloof lonesome God who can tell you a joke while spitting blood and got that cooking rizz which she couldn't resist. Xingzhi's dilemma with the responsibilities he beared versus the love he felt was literally brought to life by Lin Gengxin. I loved how in the starting all his expressions were limited but his face had more movements and energy when their relationship developed further. Their flirty banters always left me smiling ear to ear.

When Shen Li was "yang", xingzhi was the "yin" balancing them. Its "him protecting her when she is busy protecting the world story"... the untouchable god who was meant to stay unbothered starts caring for her once and cannot let go now, woah! I just got deeper and deeper into their fluff. The sequential emotional build up was that amazing!

At some point, I also let go of all the complaints I had that we aren't getting anything special as a "story"... Cuz their bonding over the silly conversations and the angst of how they should not be together while trying to defeat the villains was in itself a story. It all grew on me as the drama progressed... Tbh I haven't sobbed like this in a while like I did in those last few episodes. Even supporting aids like Furong, Mofang, Youlan also got their potential growths as a character which increased my rating... I can't forget to mention the sassy demon serpent, she deserves her own drama!

Idk how much they spend to get such mesmerizing CGI cuz some scenes like all the cluck cluck scenes, sitting on top of a tree with moonlight, a demon action sequence using paintings as weapon, came out very cool and clean... For OSTs we get tracks from Zhang Bichen, Liu Yuning, Curley Gao etc. Those are basically living in my mind rent free by now.


Overall, definitely recommending "The legend of Shen Li" to all the Xianxia lovers out there. Meanwhile I'll be off to check out Princess Agents now ;)♡

Leia Mais

Esta resenha foi útil para você?
Completados
bunnyangel
21 pessoas acharam esta resenha útil
Abr 6, 2024
39 of 39 episódios vistos
Completados 0
No geral 10
História 10
Acting/Cast 10
Musical 10
Voltar a ver 10

The best xianxia of 2024!!!!!!!!

This is the fifth drama I'm watching that has been adapted from a novel written by Jiu Lu Fei Xiang (after The Blue Whisper, love between fairy and Devil, Back from the Brink, Love You Seven Times). Since I've mostly liked all of them, especially back from the brink, I decided to give this a try. And as expected, it didn't disappoint.

For future viewers, I am just writing what I liked and what you might enjoy the most if you decide to give this a shot:
1. Followed 90% of the novel, so novel fans won't be disappointed. The leads had a lot of screentime together.
2. An independent and formidable female lead- Takes no nonsense from others, the perfect example of a tough exterior but soft interior, is extremely skilled at fighting and loves to protect her people, doesn't need a knight in shining armor to save her every time.
3. An all-powerful ancient god male lead- has an indifferent exterior most of the time(but is lonely and longs for companionship), loves to joke and prank others, is extremely caring towards our female lead, lets her fight her own battles most of the time even though he is more powerful than her (because he knows she prefers that even though at times he wants her to rely on him) .
4. Zhao Li Ying and Lin Geng Xin are old buddies who have starred in Princess Agents before. Being good friends they had a good level of cooperation and were able to deliver every scene perfectly. Kudos to their phenomenal acting. Also since I saw a lot of comments on how LGX looks too bulky or old for this role, let me tell you my opinion. He is playing the role of an ancient god who has lived for eons and is the highest of all beings in terms of power and position. So obviously, he is supposed to look manly and seasoned for that. I cannot picture someone who looks boyish and is skinny as an ancient deity who is all powerful and has lived for that long.
5.Perfect blend of romance, comedy, action, adventure. For me: Comedy : 10/10, Romance: 9/10, Action: 100/10, Angst: 3/10.
6. This is more of a light-hearted xianxia where the angst is followed by a comedy scene as a medicine to the pain.
7. The CGI is top-notch and one of the best you can get in costume dramas. So grateful for the fact that it was an S+ drama meaning the highest level in terms of budget. The CGI will make all those epic fighting scenes look 100% better. I really appreciate all the time, effort and money that they spent on making those scenes so beautiful. Plus the BGM's and OST's were perfect. The BGM accompanied with the CGI made the scenes so majestic.
8. No unnecessary misunderstanding between the male leads. No important sml or sfl.
9. No plot holes. People might have questions in the beginning but hold on, everything will be answered in the end.
10. A very happy ending. Not rushed and we get a full 1 episode of their happily ever after, quite rare in xianxia these days.

So undoubtedly a 10 out of 10 for me.

Leia Mais

Esta resenha foi útil para você?
Completados
PeachBlossomGoddess Flower Award1
43 pessoas acharam esta resenha útil
Abr 8, 2024
39 of 39 episódios vistos
Completados 39
No geral 8.5
História 8.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Musical 8.5
Voltar a ver 7.5

Tale as old as time.

The Legend of Shen Li is a highly entertaining xianxia with a terrific starting hook. Injured while fleeing an unwanted marriage, Shen Li crashes into the mortal realm in her innate phoenix form. Mistaken for a chicken, she is rescued and healed by Xing Yun, a sickly ginseng salesman. Never in my wildest dreams did I think I would be shipping an unseemly attachment between a haughty chicken and a weak but insolent mortal. Their hilarious interactions and witty repartee had me grinning like a fool. This has to be the first CP that I got invested in before the FL properly meets the ML.

While I find Legend of Shen Li quite enjoyable, it is a tale as old as time and I am not just making fun of Xingzhi's age. This kind of forbidden love story between a lonely, crusty old god and a much younger one is the staple of this genre. This one is written more as a character story so there is little plot movement until the second half of the drama. The plot itself leans heavily on well known xianxia tropes with a modern, role reversal approach. What makes it special is that it is well executed, the main CP has scorching chemistry, it is anchored by a stellar cast and tongue-in-cheek dialogue has deep and heart tugging undertones. This is an excellent entry-level xianxia that will thrill and delight newcomers to the genre the most. While die hard fans of the genre will certainly enjoy the fresh take on old themes, they may find the plot predictable after the early arcs.

For me, the mortal realm is always the most interesting xianxia arc and this is no exception. It is at the same time the most disappointing arc in terms of missed opportunities. It is too short and half the time Shen Li is an angry CGI bird. Shen Li's feelings for Xing Yun developed so quickly I felt shortchanged on the how and the why she fell in love. Worse, their story is overshadowed by the two utterly heart wrenching ill-fated love stories. To some extent, the narrative coasts on the residual heat from Princess Agents and assumes the audience is already invested in the main CP. The issue is viewers who did not watch that may not feel the chemistry between them. The arc ends so abruptly that it barely dawns upon me that Shen Li's affections could be one-sided. She very high-handedly falls for a helpless mortal and doesn't give him any say in the matter because she knew it to be transitory. This is quite sad and complex and it is a pity the narrative dealt with it too cursorily.

As someone hungering for closure from Princess Agents, I am stoked to report that the chemistry between Lin Gengxin and Zhao Liying burns as hot as ever. This drama is generous to a fault in fusing passionate love scenes with humor and moving romantic moments. I find myself chuckling at how hot and flustered Shen Li gets by Xingzhi's shameless flirting until the veiled pathos behind Xingzhi's careless words hits me and makes me tear up. Both characters are designed to recycle the strengths of their previous collaboration without taking much risks. Notably, there is no extra dimension or complexity to Zhao Liying's role or portrayal. She once again delivers in spades what she does best from the brilliant, combative glitter in her eyes to her signature awesomely bad-ass fight scenes. I would have liked to see more facets to King Bicang beyond the fierce warrior with a deadpan expression who is casually cruel to CGI animals. There is more scope for Lin Gengxin to shine as Xingzhi is a contradiction; the most powerful and yet the most powerless being in the three realms. I was impressed by Lin Gengxin's heart wrenching and nuanced portrayal of this so very alone ancient being who will crack a joke to stop your heart from breaking for him.

As a couple, Shen Li and Xingzhi are too perfect for each other - their world view is largely aligned and besides the one bombastic obstacle of an existential crisis for the realms, there is no real conflict in their relationship. While they experience some acutely angsty moments, they are all short lived. Most of the intense and lingering agony in this xianxia actually comes from the three devastating side love stories. Both characters are fully realised beings that don't grow much. That is left to the likes of Furong who is my favorite character in the first half of the narrative and the character that shows the most growth overall. His limelight in the second half is stolen by Lady Jin who is by far my favorite character and one who saves the draggy second half of the show for me. I find the villains quite boring and archetypal and those roles are also the least well acted. Even though Shen Li and Xingzhi come together in a moving and masterful ending climax, the finale is too much of something I have seen many times before. I did not enjoy the extended ending fight sequences and the heavy handed CGI.

Despite the unoriginal plot, this is an excellent character driven story. I was invested in many characters beyond the leads - Furong, Youlan, Qing Ye, Feng Lai, Mofang, Lady Jin and the indignant Cluck Cluck. The dialogue uses comedy brilliantly as a gateway to the profound in highlighting complex, deep and at times tragic existential themes. I enjoyed the conversation about how if we can work together against evil, we may no longer need gods to be our babysitters. I also felt a shiver of fear in this age of AI at the idea that as creators, one day we will become an existential threat to our creation. Overall a very enjoyable and highly recommended funny and intelligent xianxia that I am happy to rate 8.5/10.0.

Leia Mais

Esta resenha foi útil para você?
Completados
Akira
29 pessoas acharam esta resenha útil
Abr 5, 2024
39 of 39 episódios vistos
Completados 0
No geral 10
História 10
Acting/Cast 10
Musical 10
Voltar a ver 9.0

Princess Agents Fans ....... Drama Gods Blessed Us with This Masterpiece

The anticipation for this drama was so intense that watching anything else felt like a complete waste of time. But let me tell you, the wait was absolutely worth it! It not only met but exceeded all expectations.

Cast: We have Lin Geng Xin, his portrayal of a deity is nothing short of divine. From his physicality to his subtle nuances, he brings a mesmerizing depth to the character that is unparalleled. And then we have Zhao Li Ying, the ultimate badass actress who knows how to kick some serious butt. She embodies her role with such fierce determination that you can't help but be in awe.

Now, let's check off the boxes. Forbidden love? Check. Age-gap romance, the delicious flavor we all secretly adore? Double check. And let's not forget about the scorching chemistry between the characters. Unlike those dramas where the tension fizzles out, leaving you disappointed, this one keeps the fire burning from the very first episode. The stolen glances, the palpable attraction, and the simmering tension will have you begging for more.

Speaking of strong characters, this drama knows how to give us a badass leading lady. She's not just there to show off the male lead's weaknesses; she's a force to be reckoned with herself. Though, call me superficial, but I do appreciate when the male lead exudes that alpha energy. I mean, it's okay for the female lead to be alpha too, but let's not make her stronger than the poor guy, ok?

And let's not forget about the soundtrack! The OSTs in this drama shine brighter than a supernova. They perfectly complement every scene, tugging at your heartstrings and making you hum along. It's like the icing on the cake, adding that extra touch of magic to the already captivating storyline.

But wait, there's more! This drama is a feast for the eyes. Gone are the clichéd moments and predictable storylines that plague many Chinese dramas. Instead, we're treated to a visual masterpiece. The attention to detail, the beautifully crafted scenes, and the overall artistic flair make every frame a work of art.

Leia Mais

Esta resenha foi útil para você?
Completados
Megumi-H
11 pessoas acharam esta resenha útil
Abr 6, 2024
39 of 39 episódios vistos
Completados 7
No geral 9.0
História 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.5
Musical 9.0
Voltar a ver 9.0

Romancing the last Ancient God

This is likely my shortest review with no spoiler. JUST GO WATCH IT, this is really worth it!! It has good humour, great chemistry, al the casts’ acting are top notch, fight scenes and CGI are nicely choreographed, great BGM and beautiful scenery.
I started this because of Lin Geng Xin and Zhao LiYing, after their cliff hanging ending (of this CP in Princess Agent), I am curious about their second time partnership in a XianXia drama. And I am not disappointed, very satisfied except can’t help still feeling mild awkwardness in this CP’s kiss scenes. But their scenes together are really natural.

After I started this drama, especially the first few ep., the great comedic moments and storyline got me so interested that I finished the novel in two days.

This is a very BEAUTIFULLY adapted story from its novel, it stayed true to the characters and storytelling with very minimal changes. The best XianXia for me so far in 2024!
The actors were all well casts including the supporting casts, all are fantastic in their roles. Especially for ZLY and LGX, they ace their roles! The fights scenes, cinematography were exhilarating and some of scenery were so beautiful. Both the humor and romance were well paced. Great BGM during fights and emotional scenes. My only complaints is there are too many flashbacks scenes, a little repetitive. But I am overall so very satisfied and very much enjoyed this drama. Kudos to the team!

Leia Mais

Esta resenha foi útil para você?
Completados
Cc2
17 pessoas acharam esta resenha útil
Abr 4, 2024
39 of 39 episódios vistos
Completados 0
No geral 10
História 9.5
Acting/Cast 9.5
Musical 9.0
Voltar a ver 10

A love story that makes sense.

There were a few epic love stories I watched where the leads are willing to sacrifice themselves for the person they love but I sometimes wonder why and how did they even fall in love in the first place.

This is not the case in The Legend of Shen Li. This forbidden love story is beautiful, compelling, sexy and we as viewers saw how it unfolded every step of the way. The progress of their love takes center stage and it just made sense why they fell for each other even when the whole world was against it.

The story is simple with a sprinkle of plotting and scheming and the leads are so adorable together. Loving it.

UPDATE SPOILER: Just completed this amazing drama. They gave us AN EPISODE of their happily ever after and it is what I NEEDED.

Leia Mais

Esta resenha foi útil para você?
Completados
Ari Li
21 pessoas acharam esta resenha útil
Mar 22, 2024
39 of 39 episódios vistos
Completados 0
No geral 9.5
História 9.5
Acting/Cast 9.5
Musical 10
Voltar a ver 10

Power couple is BACK!!!!

Without any doubt this is going to be one of my favourites of this year. All the wait and anticipation was worth it. It is a treat for you if are a Princess Agent fan and has been waiting for this pair to return to screens and do their magic. The chemistry is obviously breathtaking. Nothing forced. Everything feels natural when they are together in a scene. Am I the only one who thinks that they are giving little sneak peak here and there in the show to surprise Princess Agent fans and satisfy their hunger for season 2. (you all will remember that cliff hanger water scene if you are ardent fan like me in one of the episodes).
Special mention for sound track it is really very good and amplifies the moment's intensity. (Little loud sometimes but you will get used to it) I am super happy that instead of bending the story to their whims and pleasure, they decided to follow the original novel. Another special mention for all the side characters. They are really doing their job. CGI , cinematography, costume, set design everything just looks pretty. I do have some problem with their makeup/ filter but one can ignore it I guess...I mean who cares when actors are doing splendid job. I am loving all the banter of our main lead so far. I love how they make fun of all the cliche scenes. Plus who doesn't love a strong but caring female character who knows how to deal with people around her. ( It is a slowburn romance, so if you are not a fan of such dramas or haven't read the novel or not an avid fan of Princess Agent or the actors, I would suggest you to ignore it because you won't be able to connect to the drama. Plus you might have watched many dramas of this kind and might feel bored.) For the rest however,this is going to be an epic journey with lots of laughter and tears...so brace yourself you are all in for a treat.

Leia Mais

Esta resenha foi útil para você?
Em andamento 39/39
George
36 pessoas acharam esta resenha útil
Mar 21, 2024
39 of 39 episódios vistos
Em andamento 0
No geral 9.0
História 8.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Musical 8.5
Voltar a ver 8.5

A captivating tale of love, adventure, and self-discovery.

The Legend of ShenLi is a delightful and captivating series that takes you on an unforgettable journey through ancient Chinese mythology. With its rich world-building, engaging characters, and thrilling plot, it's a must-watch for fans of the fantasy genre.

What sets this show apart is its strong and dynamic female lead, Shen Li, who defies stereotypes and stands out as a powerful and capable heroine. The chemistry between Shen Li and the male lead, Xing Yun, is both heartwarming and humorous, making their interactions a highlight of the series.

The stunning visuals and epic fight scenes are a feast for the eyes, while the emotional depth of the story will keep you invested in the characters' fates. Overall, The Legend of ShenLi is a captivating tale of love, adventure, and self-discovery that will leave you wanting more.

Leia Mais

Esta resenha foi útil para você?
Completados
Yun
9 pessoas acharam esta resenha útil
Abr 6, 2024
39 of 39 episódios vistos
Completados 0
No geral 9.0
História 9.5
Acting/Cast 9.0
Musical 8.0
Voltar a ver 8.5
Esta resenha pode conter spoilers

A Fantasy Romance Reignited: A Review of "The Legend of Shen Li"

It's been far too long since I've been swept away by a fantasy romance drama. But "The Legend of Shen Li," a Chinese drama starring the captivating Zhao Li Ying and the ever-charismatic Lin Geng Xin, has reignited my love for the genre.

This epic tale unfolds across the three realms: the divine, the immortal, and the mortal. We meet Shen Li, a powerful yet compassionate ruler burdened by pain and duty. Xing Zhi, on the other hand, carries the weight of immense responsibility, leaving little room for personal desires. Their paths collide, and as they navigate the treacherous waters of the three realms, they find solace and strength in each other.

This drama is for those who enjoy fantasy-romance genre or Chinese mythology.

Synopsis:
Shen Li (Zhao Li Ying), a ruler of the Immortal world also known as Lord Bi Cang, is forced into a loveless marriage with a lord of the Divine realm. But it turns out the man she is to marry is a playboy and idles away his life. To escape this ill-fated marriage she tried to run away but is in-turn chased by the soldiers of the immortal world.
During her escape she experiences life-threatening injuries leading her to turn into her original form, a phoenix and falls into the Mortal world.
There, mistaken that she is a chicken, a butcher captures her and plucks all her feathers making it hard for her to escape.
A kind but sickly man, Xing Yun (Lin Geng Xin), finds her and recuperates her back from her ailing health and some how is the only one who understands her. To repay this man for the kindness he's shown her, Shen Li protects him from all threats and dangers. But her past soon catches up, forcing her to confront her responsibilities. Can love blossom amidst duty and destiny?
How will fate work between them? Are the gears already set and turning?

Personal remarks:
After the c-drama Princess Agents, I finally see the two leads reuniting in this wonderful drama. The storyline was so engaging I couldn't help but personally feel that 39 episodes is not enough. The actors performed beautifully and their on-screen chemistry is undeniable, creating a romance that will leave you grinning from ear to ear.
The plot unfolds with satisfying consistency, leaving no unanswered questions.
The supporting cast shines brightly, with each character bringing depth to the narrative. (Prepare to fall for the second male lead, Mo Fang!)
The direction and cinematography are top-notch, making the wait for this drama well worth it and the engaging plot, complex characters and thrilling fights made this drama a beautiful one!

I hope you all too enjoy this drama!

Leia Mais

Esta resenha foi útil para você?
Completados
Themaskedwarrior
13 pessoas acharam esta resenha útil
Abr 5, 2024
39 of 39 episódios vistos
Completados 0
No geral 10
História 9.5
Acting/Cast 10
Musical 10
Voltar a ver 10

10

The best drama I have watched in a while. After watching many dramas, I was missing the magical spark, which made me fall in love with watching dramas.

Legend of Shen Li has an interesting start with a forbidden romance, strong FL, nice and graceful ML, cute side characters, quality music, action scenes and CGI. Occasionally the story feels like nothing is happening then boom, it gets interesting. Perhaps that's the only hindrance to not loving this.

The days I keep contemplating of dropping this show, it comes back with a banger episode that makes me swoon.
-------
Edit -

Loved the ending. So sweet. Worth the watch and the rewatch.

Things I liked
Shen Li's origin and her parents
Character Growth of Furong
Mofang's arc
Furong's Sister watching Furong's memories
The events leading to the wedding of Jin
Mortal realm scenes
Painting formation
ShenLi as Cluck Cluck

Things I didn't like
CGI fights though good were not my cup of tea

Leia Mais

Esta resenha foi útil para você?
Completados
SanjidaSamiPunno
15 pessoas acharam esta resenha útil
Mar 21, 2024
39 of 39 episódios vistos
Completados 0
No geral 10
História 10
Acting/Cast 9.5
Musical 8.0
Voltar a ver 9.0

This is wonderful. My favorite actress of all time. Love the overall cast.

Wah all the great actors are together. Halleluyah.. . It's hit and hilarious 🎊💯umma..We love it already. We specially I have been waiting for them together.. and also my favorite actors together in a wonderful drama. ❤But I must say princess agent should have a one more season...😢😊 This is already good. The beginning was hilariously funny 😆 I hope to see more happy scenes, but with that I know we will see some sad 😔 ones. Specifically the side characters I will love to much & then they die 😢😂. I know it will make me very emotional 😭. Here is hoping for a happy ending.. 🤞🏻🤞🏻. The leads have great chemistry. Congratulations 🎉 to all
I hope there will be a happy ending.

Leia Mais

Esta resenha foi útil para você?
A Lenda de Shen Li (2024) poster

Detalhes

Estatísticas

  • Pontuação: 8.8 (avaliado por 4,761 usuários)
  • Classificado: #165
  • Popularidade: #1245
  • Fãs: 13,289

Principais Contribuidores

edições 359
edições 65
edições 62
edições 45

Listas populares

Listas relacionadas de usuários
Who is Your Favourite Cdrama Couple? ❣
296 titles 4017 voters 270 loves 68
Best Wuxia or Xianxia drama
125 titles 1367 voters 238 loves 16
Dramas Based on Novels
165 titles 90 loves

Assistido recentemente por