Completados
simmetra
32 pessoas acharam esta resenha útil
Jun 29, 2022
6 of 6 episódios vistos
Completados 3
No geral 9.0
História 8.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Musical 1.0
Voltar a ver 2.5

Ripley's syndrome

I'm adding this review only because the synopsis is vague and doesn't help you decide whether to watch it or not. The tags however are helpful. I googled Ripley's Syndrome which is described as a antisocial personality disorder where one makes up grandiose lies and believes in this distorted reality. The person feels no shame or sympathy for his/her victims. This last point however doesn't quite fit the depiction about Anna as she does seem to experience guilt and shame.

From this, you can kind of guess the storyline. I'm going to leave it here as I've only watched 2 episodes. However I will add that Bae Suzy is again the consummate actor. She has once again turned a flat 2D script into a 3D person with complex and often conflicting emotions and motivations, and really made the character hers. I look forward to watching the rest of the series, thankfully only 8 episodes in all, and will be back at the end with a deeper review.

Updated: I have now finished watching the whole series. 8 episodes cut down to 6 and I can say that the last 2 episodes were the weakest in the whole show. Clearly there's been heavy editing to fit the last 4 episodes into 2 and for no apparent reason. It's puzzling that they needed to cut; were that ratings bad? If ratings were so bad, why are they going to broadcast and extended version in August?

I have downgraded my overall rating because of these last 2 episodes. Pity. I certainly won't be watching the extended edition in August.

Leia Mais

Esta resenha foi útil para você?
Completados
the_sapio_nerd
46 pessoas acharam esta resenha útil
Jul 8, 2022
6 of 6 episódios vistos
Completados 2
No geral 8.0
História 7.5
Acting/Cast 8.5
Musical 8.0
Voltar a ver 5.0

I lie to myself all the time.

A famous quote by Virginia wolf goes like, "If you do not tell the truth about yourself you cannot tell it about other people." Just because something ain't a lie doesn't mean that it ain't deceptive for a liar knows that they are a liar, but one who speaks mere portions of truth in order to deceive is a craftsman of destruction. This drama and the original novels are quite vocal of it, that you'll realize as you set out on a journey alongside Anna, a woman who made choices out of bravery yet found herself in an endless pit.

Produced by ‘Content Map’ and edited by ‘Studio Briv’“, ANNA (안나)” is a mini Korean web drama, based on the full-length novel “Intimate Stranger (친밀한 낯선 사람)” authored by Chung Han Ah. Lee Joo Young takes charge of both screenwriting and direction of the drama which is the 2nd venture for ‘Coupang Play’, an emerging and rising OTT platform in South Korea.

ANNA follows the story of Lee Yu Mi (Bae Suzy) who lives a life full of lies that resulted from her aspirations to do big but inability to make it up to anything. In short the story keeps at centre a woman who has Ripley’s Syndrome. I think this is enough for a drama with only 6 episodes and less than 50 minutes runtime. The MDL bio says nothing of the story, nor can the show be described with a particular plotline. This can be considered a roughly 5 hours long movie.

“Ripley's Syndrome” is an antisocial personality disorder that causes patients to believe lies about themselves. Sometimes, these lies even urge patients to commit crimes. The condition got its name from Tom Ripley, a con artist and serial killer in Patricia Highsmith's 1950 psychological thriller novel "The Talented Mr. Ripley."

Many familiar faces other than Suzy that you see in the drama are: Jung Eun Chae, Kim Joon Han, Park Ye Young, Kim Jung Young, Kim Soo Jin Baek Ji Won and Woo Ji Hyun. There are also some known faces in guest roles.

The story and plot development of the show (won’t say is not for everyone) will be likable among viewers who appreciate cinematic values and are avid movie fans. The beginning sequence is intriguing for sure; starting from 1986, i. e. from Yumi’s early childhood to her late-30s in 2022, the chronicle is a portrayal of what kind of life she has been leading. As the story begins with her getting involved with a lady of knowledge and receiving life-lessons from her as a barely 5yo kid, the furtherance takes us to different phases of her life, showing her ‘the then’ status with year stamps.

Her journey is not a smooth one, as she thought it would be, until she messes up with something and ended up getting abandoned. To save herself from miserable judgements and due to personal insecurities, she starts lying and to cover one lie, she lies further and further, she didn’t look back or she couldn’t look back? Well, there lies all the confusions and criticisms, giving scope for reasonable debates and a horrible yet beautiful in-depth character analysis, which I won’t do in the review in order to keep out the spoilers.

Creator and Director of the acclaimed 2017 movie “A Single Rider”, Lee Joo Young-nim might still be a rookie but possesses great creative cinematic skills, which is in fact adequately reflected in this miniseries. The performance of the actors in their respective roles, particularly the central character Anna, and the insights put into the arcs and the overall outcomes, say a lot about the ideas of the maker incorporated with sumptuous sense of creativity. Well written and well directed, in short.

Cinematography by Lee Ui Tae is of great essence, which is quite unexpected but as evidently showcased. The time-shuffle in a sync through years and ages accompanied by growth, was gratifyingly presented. The definite structures in hazy premises and plain tones of the backdrops were of appropriate for what the maker wants to narrate through the story. Additionally, the background theme and composition of various scores is good and did blend well with the show's essence.

The delivery from the rest of the character was up to par as expected albeit Suzy did shine extra in the show; definitely not her best performance but surely stands out as a unique one and I'm certain she did her homework of understanding the character Anna well.

The central character is flawed and radically unideal but who says the devil can not have it's own story? It's always welcoming to witness different perspectives of and particularly the portrayal of a character like Anna with reasonability to her circumstances, is pretty much delivered.

Greed, money and power make us egoistic and arrogant and the through Anna, the writer has done a detailed analysis of how arrogance has the ability to become our prime characteristic feature and can land us in misery, from where, it's sometimes difficult to turn back. Greed also makes it easier for us to give a nod to everything that's offered to us without hesitation even with the realization of guilt.

Loved the manner of storytelling by the creator and the amount of naturally and realness she has decorated in the narrative with the intentions to put forward the shades that we often forget/deny to acknowledge.

Two of the most striking dialogues from the show are...
"Remember! The poker face!"
"Even the way we breath has some meaning and we can get evaluated on it."

Final Remarks... "Anna" is not something not extremely intriguing or exciting as it might seem from the synopsis but it surely has insights of truth and reflections of reality, that help you dissect characters and their psychology, in a manner that might not feel realistic, but makes you realize by the end of show, that lies require commitment and to fulfill it you must sacrifice one thing or the other. It surely was an interesting watch for me and would like to recommend to those who are into movies or are suckers for intellectualism.

Leia Mais

Esta resenha foi útil para você?
Completados
Rima-chan
13 pessoas acharam esta resenha útil
Jul 3, 2022
6 of 6 episódios vistos
Completados 0
No geral 9.0
História 9.5
Acting/Cast 9.5
Musical 9.5
Voltar a ver 9.0
Esta resenha pode conter spoilers

Surprisingly good

I made this review after Watching episode 4 and will edit when the series ends.

I watched it because it reminds me of Miss Ripley, Inventing Anna and Gone Girl (and I am always into stories like these).

The story has always had me on edges.
Anna is not a perfect person. She made a lot of mistakes, mistakes that could be avoided if she had just used her brain. I understand how she fell for her teacher, she is young and easy to manipulated by someone older. But her second love made me so frustrated.
It made me feel like she was so easy to get, this guy and her, didn't even interact and just because he asked her for a walk she agreed and also quickly agreed when he kissed her.
I feel so sorry for her parents, especially her father who had to work hard to support her - she didn't care. She only followed her love and continued with her lies until they caught her lies.
I like that she started to change after her father's death but eventually turned into this con artist Anna.

I actually like that they put on what year the events went on, because it makes sense that in those early years, it was easy to get away with your lies since the technology wasn't advanced.
Even the way people didn't know that she was wearing fakes but believed she is rich because of her elegance do makes sense.

And then when the technology started to change later on, her lies started to be difficult to conceal.

The whole drama feels like a silent movie but it wasn't boring. This is by far the best acting role of Suzy. She looks so charming in this series.

The casts, even the minor ones did great job. The cinematography is superb.

***edit***
One thing I didn't like that much is the music... especially at the end, I think it didn't fit.

But I still love this drama and I think I will rewatch this drama again someday.

Leia Mais

Esta resenha foi útil para você?
Completados
Dramaaddicts
12 pessoas acharam esta resenha útil
Jul 8, 2022
6 of 6 episódios vistos
Completados 0
No geral 9.5
História 9.5
Acting/Cast 10
Musical 10
Voltar a ver 9.0

Lee yu mi to Lee Anna Witness her Powerful Transformation. Ann is simply Superb


"It was always been like that.. i always do everything i set my mind to..."

These lines were always pop up in the start of every episode. Ann is simply a superb drama. It's short and slow with a very unique and intense narration, slowness is the real beauty of this narration.

Coming to the plot, What happens when you continuously started to make lies, Stolen an identity and live with that...? First time you think it's normal but and it becomes an habit but after some pom you will eventually face the real battle in between truth and the lie you make. From a simple ordinary girl Lee Yu Mi to the powerful Lee Anna, that transformation is indeed amazing.. She had her own reasons for everything she did so far but things started to fall slowly.. rest of everything... you should watch and find out.

The performance is the key. Bae Suzy. Always a fan boy of her. Yet again proved that she is an outstanding performer. Anna's writing was really engaging. Never felt any boring because the story and screenplay constantly growing through you. You can actually feel the intensity of that character and the atmosphere it creates.

Don't hesitate. Just give it a try 45 min per episode with a total of only 6 Episodes. I don't think people will disappoint after watching it.. try it....

Leia Mais

Esta resenha foi útil para você?
Completados
cocovanne
7 pessoas acharam esta resenha útil
Set 3, 2022
6 of 6 episódios vistos
Completados 1
No geral 5.0
História 7.0
Acting/Cast 3.5
Musical 6.0
Voltar a ver 4.0

It's very underwhelming performance

Watching this drama there two sets of campers:
The first theological group believe heavily in subtly of this drama which makes it (to them ) an underrated masterpiece.

While the second group believe it's unbelievably boring and too slow paced.

And while it's hard to support and validate the first group, I can't get on board with the second group either.

This being a heavily psychological drama had many flaws with the pacing and the acting but it wasn't all that boring. My issue was the lead actress performance. We all love Suzy don't we but all us Suzy fans know that she's not the strongest actress and has relied heavily on her co-stars to carry her through many of her hit dramas. She also has a talent for picking great scripts - her dramas always have a strong start, the middle might fumble a bit but they bring it home in the end. This drama is first time I've seen Suzy lead from the front which was a risk that did not pay off unfortunately. The weight of having to carry the entire drama herself was probably too much for her to bare. She struggled with portraying the duality of Anna and because of that at key moments the audience could not connect with her and the scenes often come across as flat, boring and dull. This is unfortunate because it really is a great story to be told. The supporting cast weren't of very much help and at times they came off much stronger than the lead, eclipsing her moments and making her seem like a secondary character. I've seen this before and when a Main actor cannot lead, the drama flip flops which is why there are so many opposing views (some people are more forgiving whilst others are not).

The drama is patient watch and you have to look for what the director is trying to say because the performance can barely guide you. It was an ambitious project but unfortunately did not live up to its potential.

Leia Mais

Esta resenha foi útil para você?
Completados
Leah kemper
8 pessoas acharam esta resenha útil
Jul 9, 2022
6 of 6 episódios vistos
Completados 0
No geral 10
História 10
Acting/Cast 9.5
Musical 5.0
Voltar a ver 10
Esta resenha pode conter spoilers

The drama is so realistic

Some viewers find this drama boring for me the drama is not . Different people with there drama choose but this drama is so realistic and interesting from the first episode you we be hook if you like emotional drama yumi ( fake Anna) viewers say she’s annoying for using another person identity, Yes she shouldn’t have done that but for me let’s say the true Suzy really act so fantastic is this drama the face,emotional face like I can’t explain just watch it you we really 🥰 it. And the real Anna she’s so pathetic and annoying. Trust me you we love the drama 💯✅

Leia Mais

Esta resenha foi útil para você?
Completados
Fan Boii 666
6 pessoas acharam esta resenha útil
Jul 8, 2022
6 of 6 episódios vistos
Completados 0
No geral 9.0
História 10
Acting/Cast 9.5
Musical 9.5
Voltar a ver 7.5

Bae Suzy's best performance

One of the best works of Bae Suzy. I loved all six episodes, I was hooked on each and every episode. Very poetic and realistic.

One more thing I should praise about this drama is the screenplay, it's so well written. Especially the character "Anna", so well written and gives her character justice. I cannot stop thinking of Bae Suzy, so well-acted. I got so many goosebumps in each and every episode. A must-watch Kdrama! I wish it was a bit longer and showed more of the side characters too, but Anna has her own flavor. loved it.
Esta resenha foi útil para você?
Completados
MatildediShabran
5 pessoas acharam esta resenha útil
Jul 8, 2022
6 of 6 episódios vistos
Completados 0
No geral 8.0
História 8.5
Acting/Cast 8.5
Musical 8.0
Voltar a ver 6.0

The Cost of Changing Your Fortune

"We are all in the gutter, but some of us are looking at the stars". -Oscar Wilde

This is the story of one woman who came from an underprivileged background and learned that the only way to get ahead in life was to invent a fictional background for herself.

She comes across "counterfeit" upper class people on her way up, which inspires her to remarket herself.

The synopsis for this drama is way off base. Please don't let it deter you from watching this drama.

The FL is the perfect perpetual victim of nearly everyone she encounters in life. People give themselves permission to victimize her because of her poor background, so she decides to take control of her fate by rebranding herself.

It's unfortunate that in K dramas, only the lower classes can be protagonists, and the upper classes are the antagonists and are morally corrupt. This ignores the fact that the upper classes are more often than not, providing the lower classes with jobs which they need.

Of course it is frustrating to watch the protagonist wallow in her, admittedly well deserved self-pity. At first she suffers misfortune not of her making, but gradually, her misfortune comes by way of choices she made. Still, it's hard to watch a character that has the misfortune of everyone taking advantage of her. Any other K drama would have a protagonist who endures much, but at least finds someone that supports her and brings her good luck by the end of the drama.

I feel like the scriptwriters wanted to make a statement against the upper classes of society, and also that "absolute power corrupts absolutely". But that's not what I got out of it. Maybe they wanted to say that if you are both born poor, as well as unlucky, then you shouldn't attempt to dream outside of your relm of possibility. Whatever the message was, it wasn't logical, is what I am getting at.

By all means, give this drama a try. The cinematography is exceptionally beautiful, film quality, really. Suzy Bae, unlike the FL she plays, is lucky that in South Korea, they cast based on marketability, popularity, and looks, rather than who the best person for the job might be regardless of identity. It's an interesting contrast in this drama to have that element to it by way of casting. Because of her good fortune, she has been cast over and over (above much better actresses), until she finally became a good actress herself. Now THAT is the utimate luck in identity.



Leia Mais

Esta resenha foi útil para você?
Completados
melaa4
3 pessoas acharam esta resenha útil
Jul 8, 2022
6 of 6 episódios vistos
Completados 0
No geral 8.5
História 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Musical 9.0
Voltar a ver 7.0
Esta resenha pode conter spoilers

misunderstood!!

many people have found it “boring” or too slow paced, but it definitely isn’t for everyone. i think bae suzy gave one of the best acting performances of kdramas this year. this was my first time watching a kdrama with suzy, so i can’t compare her acting with another project she’s done but i can definitely say this might be one of, if not her best yet acting performance. the buildup is not as exciting / fast paced as others, but still gives it’s dramatic effect on the viewers. one of my favorite parts of this drama was how anna/ yu-mi was never meant to be a “hero” or the exact “villain” of the story and throughout the drama that is shown. her life just wasn’t meant to be “ordinary”, and even in the very ending (SPOILERS!) she has isolated herself so i don’t really know if that would be her “happy ending” as others presume she is dead.

Leia Mais

Esta resenha foi útil para você?
Completados
Irenebae99
3 pessoas acharam esta resenha útil
Jul 9, 2022
6 of 6 episódios vistos
Completados 0
No geral 9.0
História 8.5
Acting/Cast 9.0
Musical 10
Voltar a ver 9.0

I’m always down for a new concept of kdrama

This drama shows how Koreans are always trying to renew their approach to kdramas, not only the plot but also the way it’s portrayed, I feel like this drama was like telling an interesting story briefly but nonstop it will take you in every part with it left and right until you find yourself at the end of it, and you’ll look back at it and think of how it started and where it reached when it ended.

I was excited for this since I saw the teaser and ofc since Suzy is acting in it , when I first saw it I knew how this drama is going to be, it’s just so not cliché and has a lot going on and let me say it was “tightly packed” since it has only six episodes and a lot of events that is gonna happen throughout these episodes, the episodes were never boring for me and quite interesting because I like this kind of story, and like any other kdrama this story gives a lot to learn from -like how bad people will eventually get down and how people are never satisfied with life-, I love how they portrait these ideas through the plot and how it feels as if the writer wanted to send a specific message through the plot.
Anyways talking more specifically the drama plot was kind of unexpected I don’t think that at any point I expected what is going to happen next but it’s still solid and never absurd, also I like that it wasn’t draggy at all, and even though the story was kind of dark it was never over the top with action or drama.
Of course I think some will say that some parts should have been given more attention in the plot (more explanation) but for me it was perfect for a short drama

The acting was great I have almost nothing to say about it from how natural it was, I love how Suzy always adds her own character to the role she plays but also gives the role what it needs and the role she played this time suits her so well her character is so elegant and calm which made her beauty even shine more and the fashion also matched her image kudos to the stylist for that
The music was so nice I noticed that it was mostly classic music which I loved and the cinematography and the aesthetic of the drama was nice I liked the overall vibe that it gave

Overall I loved it it’s only six episodes but leaves an impression on you and keeps you entertained and it’s interesting and teaches you a lot so give it a go I don’t think you will regret it

Leia Mais

Esta resenha foi útil para você?
Completados
Shiro
2 pessoas acharam esta resenha útil
Mar 2, 2023
6 of 6 episódios vistos
Completados 0
No geral 8.5
História 8.5
Acting/Cast 9.0
Musical 7.0
Voltar a ver 6.0

It is all lies, and (rich) people are bad


"Hell is not a space it is a situation"

This is a Survival of the cruelest, grown ups suck, men suck, politicians are evil... Eat the rich type of drama. The writers of dramaland must really hate politicians... But what else is new... As this is yes another drama with corruption, evil men and rich people acting all mean and selfish... And the girl who got caught up in it all after seizing an opportunity she may or may not live to regret. Oh and there is of another show of rich grown ups who do not take responsibility for their actions... but in a world where people lie in their own diaries that no on will read it all kind of makes sense...

For the record I personally believe that lying in ones diary is important if you do not want to get caught... as there are no safe spaces...

The evil people on here are truly as evil as evil gets, there are no pure people but there may be a friendship or two worth having, it is based on lies but other than that it is all peachy good and sweet...

They also manage to show that life is hard mostly for the poor but even for the smart and kind of warn off all from trying to do something about it as life for the rich is complicated too... However the best thing about being rich is not having toaask people for favours as you can probably pay for them instead.

The acing is really good ( but Suzy is the lead so it is kind of a given) and so is both the build up, cinematography and tension. There is no fluff or romance what so ever, nor will it make you feel stuff. So you are going to have to be in the mood for some bad *** 20 shades of Suzy. cold, survival of the cruelest to enjoy this.

Bine ability: high
Mind twist: not so much
Lovable characters: not so much
Well told story: yep
Good lines: yes

Leia Mais

Esta resenha foi útil para você?
Completados
PHope
2 pessoas acharam esta resenha útil
Ago 2, 2022
6 of 6 episódios vistos
Completados 0
No geral 8.0
História 7.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Musical 5.0
Voltar a ver 5.0

Good Enough

Korean Drama "Anna" is a short but to the point drama.

It tells the story of a woman who starts with a lie that takes over and, eventually, she starts living under a fake identity. The story feels rushed at times, as the time limit is short and the drama aims, successfully, to wrap up everything by its ending. And true, there were some stories that needed to be further explained, or more naturally presented, but the performances truly steal the spotlight. They help the drama a lot and all of the actors and actresses did a great job with their characters.

So, overall, eight out of ten.

Leia Mais

Esta resenha foi útil para você?
Anna (2022) poster

Detalhes

Estatísticas

  • Pontuação: 7.8 (avaliado por 5,905 usuários)
  • Classificado: #3387
  • Popularidade: #1006
  • Fãs: 16,193

Principais Contribuidores

edições 61
edições 48
edições 32
edições 17

Listas populares

Listas relacionadas de usuários
Short KDrama
2101 titles 437 loves 15
Webtoon/Miniseries Dramas
557 titles 269 loves 2
Well-written NON-ROMANCE dramas
151 titles 784 voters 471 loves 73

Assistido recentemente por